About the CRPuO

Photonics embraces the science and technology of light: its interaction with matter and the technology for its generation, manipulation, transmission and detection.

Headshot of Pierre Berini

Dr. Pierre Berini, Director

Photonics research is revolutionising our lives like the preceding electronic and digital revolutions. Applications of photonics are diverse from communications and entertainment systems in homes to uses in biology, quantum computation, medicine, environmental sensing, green technologies and many other aspects of our everyday lives. Examples include: the near-instantaneous transmission around the globe of voice, video and data on light waves, laser scanners reading bar codes on everything such as goods in a supermarket to luggage in airports, and surgeons utilizing lasers in surgery rather than scalpels.

CRPUO logo

Despite the ubiquitous penetration of photonics, challenges remain, be they at the level of applications where, for example, improvements are continuously sought to optical telecommunications equipment, solar cells, and optical biosensors; or at the level of fundamentals where, for example, greater understanding is sought on how light interacts with matter at extreme time and spatial scales or on how quantum states of light can be formed and utilised. To meet such challenges, the University of Ottawa established the world-class Centre for Research in Photonics (CRPuO) founded on strengths within our Faculties of Engineering and Science.

Just like light itself the CRPuO does not recognise disciplinary boundaries, but rather welcomes all who claim optics and photonics as their main area of research. We count electrical, chemical, mechanical and biomedical engineers, along with physicists, chemists and biochemists among our ranks. We tackle large-scale problems requiring multidisciplinary solutions.

Photo of the Advanced Research Complex

Advanced Research Complex (ARC) 
Photo: COLE+Associates Architects Inc.

Of our 20 professors, 15 hold prestigious research chairs (1 Canada Excellence Research Chair, 12 Canada Research Chairs, and 2 University Research Chairs), many are Fellows of recognised societies (OSA, IEEE, SPIE, APS, RSC, CAE), and several have won prestigious research prizes (Herzberg, Steacie, Killam, King Faisal). The CRPuO attracts the best and brightest students and post-doctoral fellows to work alongside top minds in the field - currently over 150 are contributing to advance our field. CRPuO researchers maintain collaborations with many countries around the globe by participating in the exchange of people, material and know-how, and collaborating on common projects.

In addition to human capital, the CRPuO includes state-of-the art research facilities in the new Advanced Research Complex - a building designed and constructed from the ground up with photonics research in mind. In addition to about a dozen individual research labs, the CRPuO includes two core facilities: the SUNlab and the NanoFab, both open for business.

Many large well-known companies as well as small and medium enterprises have partnerships with our researchers. Several of our professors have launched companies. This reflects the genesis of a wide range of new applications for photonics researched within the CRPuO.

Leveraging the strong regional concentration of photonics and technology companies, the embedded base of intellectual capital, and partnerships with universities and federal research labs, the CRPuO is at the forefront of photonics research.

 

Back to top

Au sujet du CRPuO

Pierre Berini, director

Pierre Berini, directeur

La photonique, c’est la science et la technologie de la lumière : son interaction avec la matière ainsi que sa génération, sa manipulation, sa transmission et sa détection. La recherche en photonique transforme nos vies comme l’ont fait les révolutions électroniques et digitales. Les applications en photonique sont diverses : des systèmes de télécommunications et de divertissement à domicile aux usages en biologie, en informatique quantique, en médecine, en technologies vertes ainsi que plusieurs autres qui touchent nos vies. Parmi d’autres exemples, mentionnons la transmission presqu’instantanée autour du monde de la voix, de la vidéo et des données par ondes lumineuses en fibre optique, les lecteurs de codes-barres laser lisant l’information sur des items en épicerie ou sur des bagages en aéroport, et des chirurgiens utilisant les lasers au lieu des scalpels.

Malgré l’omniprésence de la photonique, des défis persistent, tel qu’au niveau des applications où, par exemple, la performance des équipements de télécommunication optique, des cellules solaires, et des biocapteurs optiques doit être améliorée; ou au niveau des principes fondamentaux qui nécessite, par exemple, une plus grande compréhension de la façon dont la lumière interagit avec la matière à des échelles extrêmement petites du temps et de l’espace, ou comment créer et utiliser les états quantiques de la lumière. Pour surmonter de tels défis, l’Université d’Ottawa a mis sur pied le Centre de Recherche en Photoniques (CRPuO), un regroupement de classe mondiale fondé sur les forces des Facultés de Génie et de Sciences.

Tel que la lumière, le CRPuO ne reconnait aucune limite disciplinaire, et accueille tout chercheur se spécialisant en optique et en photonique. Nous comptons des ingénieurs électriques et chimiques, en mécanique et en biomédecine, ainsi que des physiciens, des chimistes et des biochimistes. Nous nous attaquons à des problèmes de grande envergure qui requièrent des solutions multidisciplinaires.

De nos 22 professeurs, 15 sont récipiendaires de prestigieuses chaires de recherche (1 Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada, 12 Chaires de recherche du Canada, et 2 Chaires de recherche de l’Université), plusieurs sont membres de sociétés reconnues (OSA, IEEE, SPIE, APS, SRC, ACG) et plusieurs encore sont récipiendaires de prestigieux prix de recherche ((Herzberg, Steacie, Killam, King Faisal). Le CRPuO attire les meilleurs et les plus brillants étudiants et stagiaires postdoctoraux qui travaillent aux côtés des plus grands penseurs du domaine – présentement, plus de 150 étudiants aux cycles supérieurs contribuent à l’avancement de notre domaine. Les chercheurs du CRPuO coopèrent avec des chercheurs de plusieurs pays en participant à des échanges de personnel, de matériel et de connaissances, et collaborent sur des projets communs.

En plus du capital humain, le CRPuO comprend des installations à la fine pointe de la technologie dans son tout nouveau Complexe de recherche avancée – un bâtiment conçu et construit pour la recherche en photonique.  En plus d’une douzaine de laboratoires de recherche individuels, le CRPuO comprend deux plateformes technologiques : le laboratoire Solaire et le laboratoire de Nanofabrication, présentement en utilisation.

Plusieurs grandes compagnies ainsi que des petites et moyennes entreprises ont des partenariats avec nos chercheurs. Plusieurs de nos professeurs ont mis sur pied leur propre compagnie. Ceci reflète la genèse d’une grande gamme de nouvelles applications pour la photonique étudiée au CRPuO.

Le CRPuO est à l’avant-garde de la recherche en photonique, mettant à profit la forte concentration régionale de compagnies en photoniques et en technologie, la base intégrée de capital intellectuel, et les partenariats avec des universités et des laboratoires de recherche fédéraux.

Haut de page