CRPuO member Paul Corkum has received the 2022 Wolf Prize in Physics

Posted on Tuesday, March 1, 2022

Headshot of Paul Corkum

Prof. Paul Corkum 

CRPuO member Paul Corkum, Canada Research Chair (T1) in Attosecond Photonics, Director of the Joint Attosecond Science Laboratory, Co-director of the NRC-uOttawa Joint Centre for Extreme Photonics and a uOttawa professor in the Department of Physics, is one of the recipients of the Wolf Prize in Physics for 2022. He shares the prize with fellow scientists Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier of Europe.

The Wolf Prize recognizes, “outstanding scientists and artists from around the world, (regardless of nationality, race, colour, religion, sex or political views) for achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations amongst peoples.” (Wolf Foundation, 2022). Prof. Corkum is recognized for his pioneering work in the development of attosecond science, one billionth of a billionth of a second. “The core idea of attosecond science is to use laser light to control electrons from atoms, molecules or solids and to use these electrons to create new light with unique properties.” (uOttawa Media, 2022).

The Wolf Prize is considered one of the most prestigious awards after the Nobel Prize, with Prof. Corkum and his colleagues joining the ranks of other notable recipients including the late Stephen Hawking. This prize is one of many awards that Prof. Corkum has received for his groundbreaking research in attosecond science. Congratulations, Prof. Corkum, for this well-deserved honour!

  • Read more about Prof. Corkum’s research here.
  • Read more about the Wolf Prize here.
  • Read a related article on the topic from uOttawa Media here.



Back to top